REAVIS HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT 220 6034 WEST 77TH STREET, BURBANK, ILLINOIS 60459 COOK COUNTY, ILLINOIS

REORGANIZATION MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION

TUESDAY, APRIL 25, 2023 AT 6:00 P.M. 2nd FLOOR LIBRARY

MINUTES

1. OPEN MEETING, PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE, ROLL CALL

Time: 6:03 p.m.

The following Board Members were physically present at the meeting:

Ted Arnold James Brodinski Andrea Creger, Vice President Steve Ficker Russell McKinley, President Ruben Moreno Linda O'Dowd, Secretary

Also Present: Daniel J. Riordan, Ed.D., Superintendent Eric Novak, Chief School Business Official

2. PRESIDENT PRO TEM

Nomination of Ms. Andrea Creger to serve as President *Pro Tem* to facilitate the reorganization of the Board of Education.

Motion:T. ArnoldSecond:R. MorenoAye:J. Brodinski, A. Creger, S. Ficker, R. McKinley, R. Moreno, L. O'Dowd, T. ArnoldNay:NoneVote:7-0

3. <u>SECRETARY PRO TEM</u>

Nomination of Ms. Linda O'Dowd to serve as Secretary *Pro Tem* to facilitate the reorganization of the Board of Education.

Motion: A. Creger Second: R. Moreno Aye:A. Creger, S. Ficker, R. McKinley, R. Moreno, L. O'Dowd, T. Arnold, J. BrodinskiNay:NoneVote:7-0

4. <u>SWEARING IN OF NEWLY ELECTED BOARD MEMBERS</u>

The Oath of Office will be administered to newly elected board members by the President Pro Tem:

Mr. James Brodinski Mr. Steve Ficker Mr. Russell McKinley

5. <u>RE-ORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD</u>

A. Motion to establish a two-year term of office for officers.

Motion:R. MorenoSecond:R. McKinleyAye:A. Creger, S. Ficker, R. McKinley, R. Moreno, L. O'Dowd, T. Arnold, J. BrodinskiNay:NoneVote:7-0

B. Nominations for President - Mr. Russell McKinley

Motion: J. Brodinski Second: S. Ficker

Ms. Creger, President Pro Tem, asked if there were any other nominations. There were none.

Aye:S. Ficker, R. McKinley, R. Moreno, L. O'Dowd, T. Arnold, J. Brodinski, A. CregerNay:NoneVote:7-0

C. Nominations for Vice President - Ms. Andrea Creger

Motion: R. McKinley Second: L. O'Dowd

Mr. McKinley, President, asked if there were any other nominations. There were none.

Aye: R. McKinley, R. Moreno, L. O'Dowd, T. Arnold, J. Brodinski, A. Creger, S. Ficker
Nay: None
Vote: 7-0

D. Nominations for Secretary - Ms. Linda O'Dowd

Motion:L. O'DowdSecond:S. FickerMr. McKinley, President, asked if there were any other nominations. There were none.

Aye:R. Moreno, L. O'Dowd, T. Arnold, J. Brodinski, A. Creger, S. Ficker, R. McKinleyNay:NoneVote:7-0

E. Motion to establish a date and time for regular meetings of the Board of Education.

Motion: R. Moreno Second: A. Creger

Dr. Riordan asked the Board if third Tuesday of every month at 6:00 p.m. was still convenient for everyone. The Board agreed that it was.

Aye:L. O'Dowd, T. Arnold, J. Brodinski, A. Creger, S. Ficker, R. McKinley, R. MorenoNay:NoneVote:7-0

F. Appoint Board Committees and Delegates as needed: THIS ITEM IS INFORMATIONAL ONLY – NO ACTION NECESSARY:

AERO – Special Education Cooperative IASB – Illinois Association of School Boards SCOPE – South Cooperative Organization for Public Education

Board Committees: Building and Grounds Curriculum & Technology Finance Personnel and Negotiations School Policy Student Services

Dr. Riordan stated the Board could decide to leave the committees as is or make changes. Mr. Ficker stated he is fine with the committees remaining the same. The Board agreed to remain on the same committees.

Dr. Riordan also asked the Board to consider the IASB & SCOPE delegate positions. The IASB delegate would attend meetings which includes the meeting at the Joint Annual Conference held in downtown Chicago every November.

Dr. Riordan stated that SCOPE - South Cooperative Organization for Public Education is a lobbying group providing representation for the south and southwest suburban schools that looks for the best opportunities for students through legislative and educational support. The meetings now take place via Zoom. It is a good source of information for upcoming laws.

6. AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION

There was no Audience Participation at this meeting.

7. <u>PERSONNEL</u>

A. Approved the hire of Mr. Adam Jezl-Sikorski, following full-time substitutes for the 2023-2024 school year.

Motion: S. Ficker Second: R. Moreno

Dr. Riordan stated that Mr. Jezl-Sikorski is currently a full-time substitute this school year.

Aye:T. Arnold, J. Brodinski, A. Creger, S. Ficker, R. McKinley, R. Moreno, L. O'DowdNay:NoneVote:7-0

B. Approved the contracts of the following exempt staff for the 2023-2024 school year:

Mr. Mark Appleby, Director of Transportation and Operations Mr. Brian Bembenek, Second Shift Maintenance and Security Supervisor Mr. Michael Hock, Director of Buildings and Grounds

Motion:S. FickerSecond:R. MorenoAye:J. Brodinski, A. Creger, S. Ficker, R. McKinley, R. Moreno, L. O'Dowd, T. ArnoldNay:NoneVote:7-0

8. ADJOURNMENT

Time:	6:26 p.m.
Motion:	T. Arnold
Second:	S. Ficker
Aye:	A. Creger, S. Ficker, R. McKinley, R. Moreno, L. O'Dowd, T. Arnold, J. Brodinski
Nay:	None
Vote:	7-0

Signed and approved this 16th day of May, 2023.

President

Secretary